top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturespencerindia98

Initial Ideas for IFCP

Updated: Jul 10, 2020

The IFCP project is something I have been thinking about since the beginning of year one yet I have never come up with an idea/concept that has genuinely excited me. During the break I did a tiny mind map (see below) for the purposes of idea generation to try and stimulate viable ideas which led me to thinking about building on my Magazine Publishing module.

I proposed a podcast extension for the bi-weekly publication I created and what if I could build on that? The tech aspects of this genuinely terrifies me but I think if I collaborate with someone who is very proficient in this area I could make it work. Creating a physical publication definitely is not viable due to the Covid-19 situation but actually the thought of creating a podcast really excites me because I think this way my personality will shine through more.


It was quite difficult to come up with an idea that linked to my dissertation topic (the effects of Covid-19 on the buying habits of the postmodern consumer in relation to fast fashion) but actually when I considered that the concept for my publication was about the issues of a modern society it dawned on me that the environment is such a big topic so why not create a podcast where I discuss with various guests how they feel the pandemic might impact the fast fashion industry and the consumption of apparel. It's so topical and with Gen-Z's being known as 'social justice warriors' it seems that they might be interested in how this pandemic could impact the future of clothes in a positive way.


I received an A grade in the MP module which means my idea must have been appealing and feasible - why not take it forward? It targets a large and socially significant generation (16-25 year olds) and social activism is very much within 2020’s zeitgeist, which was after all the topic of my publication. Podcasts are such a prominent media outlet now and they play to my personal strengths so it makes sense I think.

This project is going to take a lot of planning which will be how I utilise this blog throughout the process but right now my main focus is on my dissertation. I will complete a Gantt chart this weekend to help me work out how I will effectively use my time. All quite daunting but actually I’m excited to start!

I have attached the slides I used for my proposal presentation. I initially thought I would create x4 podcasts, x4 corresponding magazine covers, website/social media mock-ups and a document consisting of all my visuals, research into why the project is fesible and an overview of each podcast and the chosen guest. Hannah is my supervisor for this module which is perfect but after our tutorial we decided to give my project a heavier focus on the digital aspect of this project so I will create just x2 podcasts, covers for the podcasts and a further two more, a PR strategy document on how I will launch the podcast via social media (this is more aligned with my career aspirations) and a website mock-up with headlines and imagery that illustrate the type of articles that would be in the e-magazine. Quite major changes but they definitely make sense.

IFCP Proposal
.key
Download KEY • 4.88MB


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page